Type to search

Drive Secure: Essential Safety Features for Indian Car Buyers

Share -

In recent years, increased awareness of road safety in India has spurred changes in the automotive landscape. Thanks to various government measures and organizations like the Global New Car Assessment Program (GNCAP) that publish car safety ratings, Indian car buyers are now making safer choices when purchasing their latest car models. The urgency for safer vehicles is underlined by India’s troubling road safety record, with daily fatalities due to accidents on the rise. As responsible and informed car buyers, choosing a vehicle with solid build quality and essential safety features has never been more critical.

Car safety primarily falls into two categories: Active Safety and Passive Safety.

Active Safety:
As the name suggests, active safety features are designed to prevent accidents and protect you while driving. These systems continuously monitor various aspects of your vehicle, reducing the chances of a crash. Essential active safety features include:

Anti-lock Braking System (ABS):
Prevents wheels from locking and maintains steering control during sudden braking.

Electronic Stability Control (ESC):
Ensures stability and control in situations like oversteering or understeering in corners, or on slippery roads.

Tyre Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS):
Monitors tyre pressure and alerts you when it’s too low, enhancing vehicle safety and performance.

Adjustable Steering:
Tilt and telescopic steering adjustments provide comfort to the driver, reducing discomfort and fatigue.

Passive Safety:
These features come into play after an accident has occurred to minimize injury to the driver and passengers. Essential passive safety features include:

Provide crucial protection during a collision. Look for dual front airbags, and even side or curtain airbags, for added safety.

An absolute must, but effective only when worn by passengers and drivers.

Crumple Zones:
Designed to absorb the impact of a collision, reducing injury to the occupants.

ISOFIX Mounts:
Essential for securing child seats and ensuring the safety of young passengers.

Lane Departure Warning:
Alerts drivers when they unintentionally deviate from their lane, preventing potential accidents.

Blind Spot Detection and Warning:
Alerts drivers to objects or vehicles in their blind spots, enhancing overall safety and preventing collisions.

In addition to these essential features, it’s essential to check car safety ratings from organizations like GNCAP. They assess vehicles based on criteria such as body shell and structure, the foot-well area, adult occupant protection, and child occupant protection. Ensuring your vehicle meets stringent safety standards adds peace of mind to your daily drives.

Moreover, the Ministry for Road Transport and Highways has proposed increasing the use of galvanized steel in car body panels. Galvanized steel helps prevent corrosion, thus ensuring structural safety and the longevity of your car.

With these safety features, your new car becomes more than just a means of transportation; it becomes a reliable partner in your journey. In a country where road safety remains a significant concern, making informed decisions and choosing a car equipped with the latest safety features is paramount.

As a responsible car buyer, prioritize safety, and make choices that protect not just your vehicle but also the lives of those you care about. By investing in a car with these essential safety features, you’re not only safeguarding your journey but also contributing to making Indian roads safer for all. Drive safe and secure with the latest in car safety technology.